The Skeptical Tech

I think I must have been born in Missouri in a past life, because whenever I hear about the latest and greatest tech gadget; my first response is “show me”.

My skeptical ways keep me from being classified as an “early adopter”; but I don’t care. I’d rather be classified as a tech savvy and potentially interested consumer who wants to look past the glitz to see if what the product delivers is something I actually need. 

I can be persuaded to buy, but you’ve got to show me a good reason why. For example; as I’ve learned more about the new Google Wallet/Google Offers technology; I’ve come to the conclusion that there may be more in it for Google and their commercial partners than there is in it for me.

Sure, if I get one of the specially enabled Sprint phones that can be used to make purchases at participating retail locations; it would offer me the convenience of being able to buy things without having to reach for cash or a credit card. 

It’s just that I don’t find reaching for cash or a credit card inconvenient. As a result; making it easier for me to spend money is great for retailers; but not all that great for me.

Mobile Offers also enables Google to send special offers direct to my phone. While there are times when I might like that; I think there are also times when I might find it really annoying.
 

So, before I buy into the mobile wallet hype; I’d rather wait and see if they come up with more compelling reasons for me to jump on that particular bandwagon. 

That’s the same way I feel about the new cloud music services offered by Amazon and Google. Sure, they would allow me to access my own personal music library from anywhere in the world; but I also have to connect through an interface where I will be continually encouraged to buy more music. Again, great for the merchants; not so great for me.
 

I really like new tech toys but I have no interest in buying them unless they can deliver something I really want or need that can’t be delivered better by something I already own.

That might not be particularly adventuresome, but it makes sense to me. 

My motto:Keep it simple; keep it affordable; avoid duplication; and don’t believe the hype.


Leave a Reply

