Freedom of Speech: Food For Thought

I’d like to pass along a story I heard recently from someone who travels around the world helping people–particularly women–speak out and create positive change in their communities.

She told me that one time when she was conducting a workshop in Africa, a woman asked; “Why do you bother talking about freedom of speech when many people don’t even have enough to eat?”

“Well,” one man responded; “If I don’t have freedom of speech, how can I tell anybody that someone is stealing my food?”

Happy (belated) Independence Day.

Leave a Reply

